Making the Effort to Make Less Effort

24 Sep 07

What I am about to say is related to the previous piece, but was inspired by something else – namely my desire to make a point about being told, in my present place of employment, that despite being on flexi-(of a sort)-time, I should cover the office until 5pm when my boss-type-person is away… the point I desire to make being that this unwritten rule is… unwritten! It is not (and I have scoured it with the proverbial Comb of Fine Teeth, so I know) in my contract!

But how, when the crux of one’s principles is, at least in part, about having an easy life, does one make a point about such a thing? Making a point – standing up for one’s principles – has a tendency to take some degree of effort… at least an effort of will. So how does one make the effort to stand up for a principle which is about making less effort? Tiz a quandary, for sure! Especially considering that, in the aforementioned case, if I did simply acquiesce and agree to cover for my sort-of-boss until 5pm, I wouldn’t have to actually do any extra work or hours, and, although I generally prefer to escape from the office as soon as possible, it would mean that I could arrive for work later and therefore have a little bit of extra time in bed. So really, principles aside, on the whole, it wouldn’t be such a bad thing. And it would only be for about four weeks in a year.

Hmm, I think I may have answered my own question…

 

2 comments on “Making the Effort to Make Less Effort

  1. […] slow lifestyle. A UK member of the International Institute of Not Doing Much  (IINDM)who writes The Art of Tea has been putting much effort into considering how to arrange life so he can stay longer in […]

  2. pepsoid says:

    Re the above Pingback, I would just like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Richards once again for mentioning yours truly in his wise’n’witty blog on the “Slow Down Now” website…

    http://www.blog.slowdownnow.org

    If readers of “The Art of Tea” have not yet visited “Slow Down Now” and its pertaining blog, then I urge you to do so immediately! Or, you know, as soon as you have finished your tea (or perhaps in a day or two (or whenever))…

Leave a Reply

