The Unbearable Lightness of Bean Curd

3 Dec 07

By way of a short interlude, of sorts, I feel the need to share with you a few quotes from the latest chapter of the book I am presently reading: Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore. First of all, the following brief snippet of dialogue…

“Tell me something,” Hoshino began.

“What?”

“Are you really Colonel Sanders?”

Colonel Sanders cleared his throat. “Not really. I’m just taking on his appearance for a time.”

“That’s what I thought,” Hoshino said. “So what are you really?”

“I don’t have a name.”

“How do you get along without one?”

“No problem. Basically I don’t have a name or a shape.”

“So you’re kind of like a fart.”

Followed a little later on by…

“God’s God. He’s everywhere, watching what we do, judging whether it’s good or bad.”

“Sounds like a football referee.”

“Sort of, I guess.”

“So God wears shorts, has a whistle sticking out of His mouth and keeps an eye on the clock?”

And then…

“This isn’t tofu we’re dealing with. Stones tend to be heavy.”

And, at the very end of the chapter…

He had one short dream – of a god in shorts, hairy shins sticking out, racing around a field, playing a flute.

Wonderful, poetic, humorous stuff! In my most humble opinion…

As you can probably imagine, this book comes highly recommended by yours truly! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

