Perfection…

[ inspired by…
http://beinwonder.blogspot.com/2008/05/girlfriend-gab-on-marriage.html]

…is impossible to achieve and impossible to define.

What kind of an over-generalisation is that?! – you may ask.

To which I will reply…

A pretty good one, if I do say so myself!

My explanation is thus…

Perfection is relative. It is always relative to an ideal. The perfect marriage, the perfect frog, the perfect day. Perfection, by definition, implies absolute 100% unwavering perfection, which can only be achieved, in any context, if the definition of a particular ideal is in itself perfect. That definition needs to describe all the criteria that are required for perfection, and account for or explicitly discount every possible variation from every criteria and the definition as a whole. Which is impossible, because how can one describe, in a finite universe, every possible way that a thing could be? In order to describe everything that a thing is (including a criteria for the achievement of a context-specific ideal), one also has to describe (directly or indirectly) everything that it is not – and everything that a thing is not would make a list of infinite length!

You see?

Perfection requires perfection… a perfect thing requires a perfect description of the ideal of that thing… a perfect description requires a perfect description of what makes a perfect description… and on it loops, round and round, to infinity…

4 comments on “Perfection…

  1. Free to think, free to believe... says:

    You’ve thought about that, I can tell…

  2. Brenda says:

    One other thought … once perfection becomes a commodity (ie, physical perfection obtained through plastic surgery), once it becomes common, it isn’t perfect any more. I don’t like to admit this, but at times in my life I’d contemplated getting “a boob job” because I wanted that aspect of the perfect body. I’m so happy now that I didn’t because today when I watch TV and see all these women with “perfect” size Ds, I realize that’s not what I want. It doesn’t look “right” or even desirable any more.Perfection was no longer my ideal!

  3. Emily says:

    Interesting, Brenda, I have noticed that the more other people start looking the same, the more I appreciate my differences. I’m still going to have some moles removed though 😉

  4. pepsoid says:

    I think if we could all suddenly realise the impossibility of “perfection,” the Happiness Quotient of the world would greatly increase!

Leave a Reply

