The Road to Happiness #1: It Doesn’t Matter…

…are three simple words which I need to regularly tell myself, regarding… well… stuff which doesn’t matter… relatively speaking… in the grand scheme of things… as opposed to stuff which does matter… moreso… in that, if I can guide my sense of what matters and otherwise more towards stuff which, on the whole and in the wider perspective and longer term (as it were), then I am more likely to achieve greater and deeper and longer lasting happiness in my life… on the whole and generally speaking…

Things which, relatively speaking and on the whole, don’t matter:

1. Completing a level in a PS2 game in a particular way.
2. Understanding perfectly every word, every sentence, every paragraph, every page of a particular book I’m reading.
3. Ditto re films, TV programmes, magazine articles, etc.
4. Being permanently cheerful and interesting at work and in the company of strangers (e.g. supermarket staff, people in a dentist’s waiting room, etc)

Things which, relatively speaking and on the whole, do matter:

1. Helping my beautiful daughter to have a fun, interesting and healthy life.
2. Helping my beloved, the mother of my beautiful daughter, to have a fun, interesting and healthy life.
3. Helping all those who I love and care about to have a fun, interesting and healthy life.
4. Helping myself to have a fun, interesting and healthy life.

I think that pretty much covers it.

Leave a Reply

