Confessions of a Non-Shopaholic

I hang my head low and shamefacedly confess…

I do not like to shop!

Hang on a sec… “shamefacedly”? Why? Why am I made to feel like there is something wrong with me if I don’t like to spend too much money on things I don’t need? Okay, sometimes I go into a videogames shop and feel “a bit funny” if I don’t walk out having made a purchase of a shiny new item of gameage, even if I already have a dozen unplayed games on my shelf at home… and as such, I tend these days to avoid going into videogames shops unless I am definitely in need of a new game… but other than that…

Why is shopaholism considered to be an acceptable addiction?

Because it is an addiction. And like other addictions, it can be psychologically harmful, have a far-reaching impact on other aspects of one’s life, even in extreme circumstances be dangerous. But why, when some celeb or other was asked, outside the premier of the film, Confessions of a Shopaholic, “Are you a shopaholic?,” did said celeb answer, with a big self-satisfied grin on her chops, “Yes, I am!”…?

Now I haven’t seen the film, and I haven’t read the book, so in fairness to both, they may both be full of deep insights into the nature of modern society, but why, generally speaking, do so many of today’s media products (films, books, magazines, etc) celebrate and promote the addiction of shopaholism?

I’ll tell you why…

Because it is in the interests of the promoters of such to do so!

We are told, by Sex in the City, by Glamour magazine, by more “male-oriented” media such as technology magazines and so on (lest ye be under the impression that this phenomenon is the sole tenure or the female of the species), that to be addicted to shopping is a good thing. Perhaps not directly (although sometimes directly)… but we are constantly encouraged to engage in retail therapy, to upgrade, to ditch the old and purchase the new, to keep abreast of the latest technologies, fashions, etc, etc, etc…

Is it any wonder we work to hard, move too fast, suffer from stress-related illnesses and are so out of touch with the non-human world? Is it any wonder the so-called Credit Crunch is such a global catastrophe?

Leave a Reply

