Defining Art

Two quotes from Brian Boyd’s On the Origin of Stories:

“We can define art as cognitive play with pattern.”

– well I’m glad that one’s settled!

Also…

“A work of art acts like a playground for the mind.”

– 🙂

2 comments on “Defining Art

  1. flandrumhill says:

    Yes, now that I think of it, I do seem to recall seeing a bit of a pattern on Mona Lisa’s bodice. Otherwise I was going to have to discount that first quotation.

    Totally agree with the second. No wonder some art makes me dizzy.

Leave a Reply

