Hydrocephalus Shunt

One of the questions on the questionnaire I had to complete before having the MRI scan on my knee was…

Do you have a programmable hydrocephalus shunt?

…after which, in brackets, it explained that a hydrocephalus shunt was “a tube draining fluid from brain/spine”…

…which is kind of a shame, because I imagined a hydrocephalus shunt to be something you have when your brain has been inadvertently nudged to one side.

“Just hold still now while I take hold of your head… I’m just going to give it a quick shunt to the right… done! Now don’t forget to give us a call if you feel your brain sliding over to the left again.”

Don’t get me started on what I imagined a programmable hydrocephalus shunt to be…

Leave a Reply

