“I don’t feel anything at all”

Well…

The funny thing is, the song with the above lyric, Nine Inch Nails1,000,000, is just so… empowering!

That’s why I listen to NiN.

That’s why I love it.

It’s ironic, as so many of Reznor‘s tunes have that nihilistic undercurrent, but there it is.

It makes me feel like…

Raargh! I can take on the world!
Nothing can stop me now!

… and such things.

Which is handy, as I spend my days working with difficult teenagers.

4 comments on ““I don’t feel anything at all”

  1. I feel the same way about NIN. Loved them since the 90’s.

  2. pepsoid says:

    Did I say somewhere else that I’m going through a big rediscovery of NiN lately? It’s been years since I’ve had something portable to play music on – God, too many years – but since I’ve been downloading stuff onto my new phone, the music of Reznor is pretty much all I’m listening to at the moment! I don’t want to trouble my little girl or the neighbours with the shouty-sweary-guitaryness of Trent, so I think I haven’t listened to NiN or much else for that matter in any form at least since becoming a dad. Now I can’t get enough!

    I’ve also loved NiN since I first heard Head Like a Hole on the radio. I went out and bought Pretty Hate Machine on tape, did much head-bangery to such and have great memories of dancing to HLaH at nightclubs as a student. I later acquired the EPs Broken and Fixed, which I lent to a friend, who never returned them. Later still, my brother gave me a recording of The Downward Spiral, and I bought The Fragile on CD upon its release. I then did a purge of all my old tapes, so my entire NiN collection then consisted of The Fragile. And now I want it all back!

    As a side note, I continue to be amazed at the technology which allows us, these days, to get so much music… onto a phone! It’s taken a great feat of acceptance to realise that I don’t need to own relatively enormously bulky CDs to have a great music collection…

  3. The biggest problem I have with music going “electronic” is the loss of an artform . . . album covers. I guess that’s why I still love vinyl. The cover is big enough for me to see.

    Glad you are on this journey of rediscovery and that you are sharing it. I’ve been quite pleased with the downloads you have been providing.

    Rock on, Dude.

  4. pepsoid says:

    I’m pleased that you are pleased!

    Re the loss of artwork, don’t know if you have downloaded the sampler of Ghosts, but this comes with the complete artwork files of the full album (I think) – great images by Rob Sheridan. I reckon this is generally the case, so if you don’t mind digital image files and have a decent enough computer to look at them on, then the artworks are not lost. And you can always get them printed off if you want.

Leave a Reply

