PS-Gone

19aug12

This is it. This is the day. It’s gone. PS-Gone.

Today is my first full day without PlayStation – specifically PlayStation 2… since… that Oh So Joyous day, however many years ago, when I arrived home to find a PS2 had been delivered to my house. A PS2 I won!

Due to the nature of its arrival, my memories will always be especially fond. I will always recall my feelings of awe at playing those first few games – Baldur’s Gate, Primal, Tomb Raider: Angel of Darkness… and specific joys of subsequent games:

Swinging between the rooftops in Spiderman 2.

The slo-mo gun battles of Max Payne.

Roaming the streets causing havoc in the GTAs.

Designing luxury (and not-so-luxury) abodes with the missus in The Sims: Bustin’ Out.

Hundreds of hours of adventuring with the Final Fantasy‘s.

Reacquainting myself with Lara while remembering the good old days in Tomb Raider: Anniversary.

Beautiful/surreal monster bashing in Shadow of the Colossus.

Scaring myself silly (in a really cool way) in Resident Evil 4.

And so on.

Oh what fun we had.

But I got bored.

It lost its novelty, parenthood happened, its appeal dwindled. I held onto it for a bit for nostalgic/sentimental reasons, but I finally realised it was doing little more than taking up space.

I sold it + games + other bits at CeX for £26.60.

Farewell old friend, you have served me well…

Leave a Reply

