Yes, I Am One of Those People

vacant seat 1

I walk down the carriages seeking a vacant seat. No, not just a vacant seat – a vacant seat with a vacant seat beside it. Preferably with two more vacant seats facing them. Next best thing is a vacant seat with a vacant seat beside it, a vacant seat facing it and a person who doesn’t take up too much space next to the facing vacant seat. So I can stretch out my legs. And put my bag on the seat beside me. I will sit on a vacant seat with a vacant seat next to it, with no seats facing, but this is almost a last resort. Last resort is sitting next to someone. Please not someone too big, noisy or smelly! I occasionally opt for one of those pull-down seats which are perpendicular to the direction of the train. My daughter likes these – if we can sit on facing pull-down perpendicular seats. I rarely go for this option if I am on my own. If I am on my own, I also consider the ambience of the vicinity. Please no energetic chatty schoolgirls!

Yes, I am one of those people.

vacant seat 2

Leave a Reply

